Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Contributor
GNOFHAC
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

pbWebconnect

At my office, we have just started using a Mailstation2 postage meter. We have been able to use PB Meter Connect to add postage and setup to get the meter functional. However, we have not managed to get the connection device to actually connect to the internet. All of the lights are the right color and flashing appropriately, but cannot be detected on our network. Has anyone else had the same trouble? Were you able to solve it? The features specific to the webconnect were the things that make the mailstation right for my office.

Product Support Specialist
PB-Jeremy
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎05-02-2008

Re: pbWebconnect

[ Edited ]

When unable to make a connection with pbWebConnect, we like to follow these tips.  Your computer must meet these minimum requirements:

 

  • Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, or Windows 7 (32-bit or 64-bit operating systems)
  • 1.2 GHz processor, 512 Mb RAM
  • USB port
  • Administrative rights to install software
  • Microsoft .NET framework 2.0 (will be automatically installed if not found on the PC). This is a one-time installation.
  • Internet Connection
  • 10/100 Ethernet transfer rates; Full Duplex

 

Also, ensure the lights on the communication device are illuminated.  If they are not illuminated, or are blinking, there is a problem.  Please let me know which lights are not illuminated or are blinking.  Simply disconnecting the power cord, waiting one minute, reconnecting the power cord, and waiting another minute, might resolve this.

 

Run this test to determine if the problem is caused by security filters or firewall settings on your network.  Go to http://cometservp1.pb.com/t3cometserver.asp.  If you get a specific message, there is most probably a problem with web filtering or firewall settings. This might be resolved by adding the Pitney Bowes domains to your network (listed below).   If you get a series of zeros, such as 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000, web filtering or firewall settings are probably not the cause of the problem.

 

Here is the list of domains which can be added:

 

http://distservp1.pb.com

http://cometservp1.pb.com

https://cometservp1.pb.com

http://pbdlsp1.pb.com

https://pbdlsp1.pb.com

https://dlsdlp1T.pb.com

https://dlsdlp1z.pb.com

https://dlsdlp1.pb.com

https://dlsdlp1b.pb.com

https://pbwebconnect.pb.com

https://s3.amazonaws.com

 

The communication device, by default, is set to Dynamic IP / DHCP.  Static IP can be set on the postage meter, like this:

 

  • Press the Menu button
  • Press the Review up arrow key until you see "Change setup?" and press Enter/yes key.
  • Press the Review up arrow key until you see "Change communication settings?" and press Enter/yes key.
  • Press the Review up arrow key until you see "Check LAN settings?" and press Enter/yes key.
  • Press the Review down arrow key to view your network settings.

 

 

If you are connecting wireless (WPS), your wireless router must use WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK or [AES]/WPA2-PSK [TKIP].  WEP or “None” cannot be used.  The communication device should be set up for wireless like this:

 

  • Reset the Communication Device to its factory defaults.
  • Remove the Network Cable from the Communication Device.
  • Restart the Communication Device by removing the power cord and then reconnecting it
  • Wait for the orange LED to light and, using a pen, press the button on the Communication Device. The green LED will light. 10 seconds later, the green and orange LEDs start flashing rapidly, then 3 seconds later the orange and or green LEDs start flashing once per second.
  • Press and hold the button on the Communication Device for more than 5 seconds. You will see the green and orange LEDs flashing at random intervals. 
  • Release the button on the Communication Device.
  • Put your wireless router into its WPS state (refer to its operation guide)
  • Wait for the LEDs to stop flashing rapidly and then power cycle the Communication Device again. If the rapid flashing lasts more than a minute, WPS setup has failed. Repeat the setup starting at step 3.
  • When the rapid flashing stops, power cycle the Communication Device. Wait 45 seconds for the Communication Device to initialize. If the LED blinks orange only (not connected to the Meter) or blinks green only (connected to the Meter). 

 

 

Thanks,

Jeremy

 

 

__________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message. If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query.

Kudos! Thanks!
Moderator
ShaunMN
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎04-03-2012

Re: pbWebconnect

Welcome to the Community, GNOFHAC!

Be sure and stop over to our Welcome Thread and Introduce Yourself. This is a great way to learn more about the Community and tell us a bit about yourself as well!

Should you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to ask.

_________________________________________________________

Forum Tips:



New Contributor
GNOFHAC
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: pbWebconnect

Thanks for your responses. We do have a static IP address, so I tried to use the instruction for the Static IP setup on the meter. The option to "Check LAN settings?" is not available on the Mailstation2 meter I have. All the options listed seem to specifically relate to dial-up only.

Product Support Specialist
PB-Jeremy
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎05-02-2008

Re: pbWebconnect

[ Edited ]

 

Thank you for letting me know this.  We will need to issue you a software update so that your Mailstation 2 will have the "Check LAN settings" option.  Could you send me a private message with the serial # of your Mailstation 2, and your contact information please?

 

 

Thanks!

Jeremy

__________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message. If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query.

Kudos! Thanks!
Product Support Specialist
PB-Jeremy
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎05-02-2008

Re: pbWebconnect

 

Thank you for the private message.  I have issued you a software update.  Could you make a connection to Pitney Bowes on your Mailstation 2 to download this update.  This should remedy this, so that you have the "Check LAN settings" option.

 

 

Thanks,

Jeremy

__________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message. If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query.

Kudos! Thanks!
New Contributor
GNOFHAC
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: pbWebconnect

Thanks for the update. The new option to change LAN settings installed, and the static IP info had been automatically detected, so I didn't have to enter the info. But still no luck in getting pbWebconnect to work.

 

Product Support Specialist
PB-Jeremy
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎05-02-2008

Re: pbWebconnect

[ Edited ]

 

I’m glad to hear you have the change LAN settings option and were able to set up Static IP.  However, I see you are still unable to get pbWebConnect to work.  Does pbWebConnect give you an error message?

 

There could also be settings in your network that is blocking the incoming or outgoing connection.  Your network administrator should be able to identify if something in your network is indeed blocking incoming or outgoing connections to us.

 

 

Thank you,

Jeremy

__________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message. If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query.

Kudos! Thanks!