Reply
Frequent Contributor
FNSBSDmailer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Re: commercial usps rate selection

Good answer - for now.

 

The regulation only requires that transactional data is sent without defining transactional data, so at this point we can all legally use the CBP price without printing a label.

 

Now we should all be clear that the reason the Postal Service gave us this rate is because they want Priority and Express mail to move like FedEx and UPS. If you've ever tracked a FedEx package you know that every time someone touches the package it gets scanned. That giant bar code on the package allowed FedEx to move things across the country overnight without losing them. For those of you that don't know, the Postal Service uses FedEx to move their mail (not all of it, but a lot of it). Because of that, over the last five years I've watched the delivery time for Priority mail from here to the east coast drop from two weeks to three days, tops.

 

I've been using Shipping Assistant in order to get the free Delivery Confirmation, but I can see the handwriting on the wall. When the Postal Service figures out this loophole they are either going to drop paragraph (f) or define transactional data as class, zip plus 4, weight and size, all of which is transmitted at the time postage is applied.

 

Although this isn't the forum for it, I will just suggest here that future high-end DM series mailing machines include an integral thermal label printer similar to the Zebra LP 2844-Z.

 

And a barcode scanner that works.

 

Just sayin.

 

 

======-::[[[ Dave ]]]::-======
New Contributor
VMacCOB
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2009

Re: commercial usps rate selection

I am curious if anyone out there shares my issue with the Commercial Based Pricing for Priority Mail...which is that the inscription does not automatically appear when I select the Priority Mail CBP class.  I have to manually change it from "First Class" to "Priority ComBasPrice."  We don't run many Priority pieces in a day, so I do forget to change it occasionally.  Additionally, other people in my office infrequently run the mail and are even less inclined to remember to change the inscription.  I have already been told by my service rep that there is nothing he can do about it...maybe this isn't a big deal, but for some reason it really bothers me - especially because the FAQs on the Pitney Bowes website state the following:

 

Will the inscription for Commercial Base Pricing automatically be printed when the meter indicia is printed on the mail piece or tape strip?


 Yes, mailstation2 and DM100i through DM1100 will automatically print the required Inscription when the Priority CBP or Express CBP classes are selected.

 

So, why doesn't my machine do this?  I have a DM1000, by the way. 

New Contributor
tomb
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

Re: usps not accepting printed postage

We provide accounting and payroll services.   We got the PB meter because of constant stock-outs at the post office on priority mali stamps.  Our Mailstation-2 was upgraded to print the Priority Comm Base postage rate.  The machine works just fine. The labels print just fine. 

 

Our problem is that the post office returns our mail for insufficient postage ($4.90 vs $4.75 rate).  Doesn't happen all the time  - maybe 3 times a month we'll get a bunck of priority envelopes returned to us (typically payroll checks going to clients).  The local post office guy (a pretty bright guy) says he understands the problem, but can't help us because all of the mail they take in is sent to the regional processing center.

 

The obvious problem is that there is a training issue at the post office processing facility.  We're not going to change that.  The obvious solution is to remove the COMMBASERATE from our PB meter and go back to the regular rate.

 

So I call PB customer service, speak to a succession of people, and have been told the following :

 

1.  take a copy of a letter to the processing center (hi-security, post office guy says he doesn't even have a phone number);

2.  maybe the local post master could contact the processing center people (why not just re-program the meter?);

3. PB programmers are not trained to write software to reverse the programming in meter (??? - send a new meter?)

4. sending a new meter won't work because your account is set up to automatically download the COMMBASERATE postage rate (change the account info?);

5. we can't change the account  information to deauthorize the COMMBASERATE authorization (set up new account and send a new meter?);

6. we could probably set up a whole new account for you and issue a new meter, but then you would be paying for 2 accounts (?????????????);

 

I just spoke to someone else in customer service ( 6th person today - started this at 3:05, it's now 4:26) who took my number and will get back to me.  I have to believe that it would be a simple matter to set up a new account and close out the old one, althought I'm not sure how we would deal with the postage alreadyu loaded into meter#1.  Perhaps some kind of credit for unused postage?

 

Has anyone else gone through anything like this?  Is there a simple solution that I'm just missing?  I am VERY open to suggestions.

 

Thanks in advance for any help or insights.

 

Tom  

   

Product Support Specialist
PB-Jeremy
Posts: 1,575
Registered: ‎05-02-2008

Re: commercial usps rate selection

Hi VMacCOB,

 

Thanks for detailing your experience.

 

I have run across a few users who have a preset set for Priority CBP, but this preset is not set properly with the CBP class.  What I like to check first is if when manually selecting CBP, does the text "ComBasPricing" always print.  Could you press the Normal Preset key, and then select Class, Priority CBP, Evlp/Pkg and proceed until you return to the main display.  Now, when printing the indicia (stamp), does it include the text "ComBasPricing"?

 

Thank you,

Jeremy

__________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message. If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query.

Kudos! Thanks!
Frequent Contributor
FNSBSDmailer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Re: usps not accepting printed postage

"The obvious problem is that there is a training issue at the post office processing facility.  We're not going to change that.  The obvious solution is to remove the COMMBASERATE from our PB meter and go back to the regular rate."

 

Dude, seriously. You're right about the obvious problem, but you're wrong about the obvious solution.

 

It's the Postal Service. They wrote the rules; they have to live by them. You qualify for the rate and you're doing everything you're supposed to do. It doesn't make any sense to put PB through all these gymnastics just because some goof in a processing center doesn't know his own rules.

 

I think you're looking for the path of least resistance. Some Postal employees can get pretty full of themselves. Have a chat with your Postmaster. Read the regulation to him/her. You'd be suprised how quickly they'll come around.

 

 

======-::[[[ Dave ]]]::-======
Frequent Contributor
karios
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎05-13-2008

Re: usps not accepting printed postage

I agree with Dave. My company doesn't send much Priority mail any more, but the couple of times I have used it since the commercial based pricing download, nothing has been returned to us for additional postage. With so much inconsistency in experiences among PB users, it's obvious that the problem is with the Post Office. The purpose of this provision for commercial based pricing is to save money for companies and I wouldn't want that privelege rescinded, although it wouldn't make a big difference for my company since we don't use Priority that often. But there are PB users who do, and I wouldn't want the special provision to be taken away from them because of miscommunication within the Post Office. There is a USPS helpline at 1-800-275-8777. Someone at that number may be able to contact your local processing center, or direct you to someone who can intervene.

New Contributor
VMacCOB
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2009

Re: commercial usps rate selection

I pressed the Normal preset button and selected Class --> Priority CBP --> Env/Pkg --> Zip Code --> Enter.  The inscription reads "Presorted First Class."  In order to change the inscription, I must press the meter stamp options button and select Inscription, then scroll down until I see Priority CBP and select it.

Frequent Contributor
FNSBSDmailer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Re: commercial usps rate selection

 


VMacCOB wrote:

I pressed the Normal preset button and selected Class --> Priority CBP --> Env/Pkg --> Zip Code --> Enter.  The inscription reads "Presorted First Class."  In order to change the inscription, I must press the meter stamp options button and select Inscription, then scroll down until I see Priority CBP and select it.


 

 

Wow. I had no idea that the CBP marking was available as an inscription. Now I can accidently put it on ALL my mail!:smileytongue:

 

If the Presorted inscription is included in your Normal preset that might explain why it doesn't automatically appear when you manually change your class to Priority CBP. Have you tried setting up a Priority CBP custom preset? I have one of those and a preset for all the Priority flat rates. My Normal preset is bare bones. Keeps me out of trouble.

 

 

======-::[[[ Dave ]]]::-======
Frequent Contributor
FNSBSDmailer
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎09-09-2008

Re: usps not accepting printed postage

And yes, Karios, I gave you a Kudos so you could stay ahead of me :smileywink:

 

======-::[[[ Dave ]]]::-======
New Contributor
VMacCOB
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-07-2009

Re: commercial usps rate selection

Thanks, Dave, for your reply.  I tried setting up a Priority CBP preset, but it prompts me for a ZIP code after I select Env/Pkg...then I would have to manually change the ZIP code every time I send a Priority package.  What I am trying to avoid is being forced to have to remember to manually change something every time I use the Priority class!  I'm not lazy, but I do forget sometimes - and I'm pretty sure that if I am out of the office and one of my co-workers has to run the mail, they will forget to do it.  I don't want to run the risk of having mail returned for insufficient postage, particularly if they are time-sensitive documents.

 

The majority of our outgoing mail is run at the presorted letter rate; that's why our normal preset is set-up that way...