Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Visitor
chlfdotorg
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2009

Network error

My K700 series meter has never updated to the new rates since May; I have to manually enter the .44.

The display asks to do an inspection, but when I say yes it returns EDE00 network error and requires a restart.

Mailstation assistant says the meter is not connected, even though the computer says it is.

I'm running a new iMac and running the Mailstation assistant (latest version) through Parallels and operated this setup successfully for several months prior to this behavior.

 

I can't find anyone else reporting the EDE00 error, so I have no idea where to turn.

 

Please advise asap.

 

JSam

Product Support Specialist
PB-Ben
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎02-20-2009

Re: Network error

Chlfdotorg,

Thank you for posting your various issues with your meter on the forum.  I will do my best to get to all of them.

 

Now, you start off mentioning that you have a model K700 meter and then go on to state that you are running the Mailstation Assistant software on your iMac.  So can I assume that you actually have a model K7M0 Mailstation 2 meter? (The K700 Mailstation does not have the ability to connect to a computer).

 

Because the Mailstation Assistant software is not compatible with Mac, we cannot provide support for any programs that you run through the Parallels software, you would want to contact their customer support line.  The EDE00 error is connectivity issue, the meter is probably having trouble connecting to the data base through the Parallels software.

 

The other option to connect to our data base to clear the connection would be to hook the meter up to an analog phone line and dial in that way.  The meter is required by the USPS to connect to the data base every 60-90 days, that is why you're receiving the "Inspection Due" error.

 

As for the rates, because I don't have your account info, I can't check to see if you've actually downloaded the software update for the May Rate change (send me a private message with your account info if you'd like me to check).  Try the following steps to update the preset on your machine:

 

1. Reboot the machine by unplugging the machine from the wall outlet, let the machine sit for one full minute, and plug the machine back in. 2.  Press the class button, enter at 1st class, enter at letter3.  Press Menu4.  Page down to change setup5.  Press yes6.  Page down to use preset setup7.   Press yes8.   View stored preset press no9.   Store new preset YES10.  Review settings to be stored - NO11.  Confirm: stored preset- YES12.  View new preset- NO 13.  Stay in setup- NO

 

 Please let me know if you are still unable to connect the meter to the data base.

 

Thanks,

Ben

________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message
If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query
New Contributor
atortuga
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2009

Re: Network error

I am having the exact same problem as you. I also run Windows via Parallels (on my MacBook Pro), and have successfully used mailstation assistant in the past, but I am suddenly not able to connect to replenish my postage. Windows clearly shows that the meter is connected - however, the mailstation assistant software says that the meter is not connected. Whey I try to add postage direct from the meter, I also get the EDE00 network error. Someone in customer service says I need a new USB cable, but I don't see how that can be, since Windows sees that the meter is connected. I did update Parallels between now and when I last connected, but I don't see how that can be the problem.

 

So I'm afraid I'm no help, but just to let you know that you're not the only one out there with this problem.

 

If the USB cable they are sending doesn't help (and I don't expect it to), I'll probably just send the meter back and turn to stamps.com.

New Contributor
atortuga
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2009

Re: Network error

[ Edited ]

Technical support was not able to help me.

 

###################

##############################

   (edited by PB-MikeH please see: Terms of Service)

Product Support Specialist
PB-Jeremy
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎05-02-2008

Re: Network error

atortuga,

 

Sorry about the delayed response, I was verifying things on our end to see how best to approach this.  I did confirm that when using Mac / Parrallels, you would need to contact their help support to determine why your operating system cannot communicate properly with this software. 

 

Have any other Mac / parrallels users had this issue, and found a solution to offer atortuga?

 

Thanks,

Jeremy

__________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message. If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query.

Kudos! Thanks!
Moderator
SandyD
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎08-05-2009

Re: Network error

[ Edited ]

Hi atortuga,

Welcome to the community!

If you have any questions about the community, please let us know. Also feel free to come over and Introduce Yourself . We hope to see you back soon! :smileyhappy:

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Helpful Tips:
  • If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a Private Message.

  • If a post has answered your query please check the "Accept as Solution" button to mark it as the solution.

  • If you find a post helpful, please click the star under the poster's icon to give them some Kudos. This is a great way to say "Thanks!"
Newbie
oolongpig
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2010

Re: Network error

I have exactly the same question.

Error code: EDE00

I can't use it at all right now.

Visitor
MacUser
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-27-2010

Re: Mac Compatibility

Is someone at PB working on making Mac compatible software?

 

I was a PC owner when I got the mailstation 2 and it makes no sense that now that I have a Mac, I can't add to my meter, I mean, do you realize how many people actually use Mac AND PB??? It seems absurd that we mac owners have no options!

 

If you can't do a software update then it seems to me that you should create some type of internet way to transfer funds. We can add funds to our account online, we should be able to update our meters that way too.

 

The answer CAN'T simply be, "we got nothing for you" - FIX IT! Customers are customers, it's good business to make sure people who use your product can continue to do so regardless of what operating system they have.

 

I don't recall when you were approaching to try the meter, any of the material saying this was for PC ONLY or that as long as I have a PC I'm golden but if I switch to Mac I'm screwed.

 

C'mon PB get with it!

 

Frustrated Mac Mailstation 2 User

Newbie
ebrunning
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-31-2011

Re: Network error

I am getting the same EDE00 error when I try to add funds to a DM200L.  We are using a Windows XP computer connected via USB.  Everything shows that it is connected ok, but as soon as we try to add funds, it throws us the error.  Our business is getting very frustrated and it is costly for us to run an analog line to the machine.  Tech support says there must be a firewall issue.  I need to know how to resolve this issue.  If it is firewall related, then I need to know what I need to change or add to allow funds to transfer.  Does anyone know what the error even means?

Product Support Specialist
PB-Jeremy
Posts: 1,578
Registered: ‎05-02-2008

Re: Network error

ebrunning,

 

Thank you for your post.  In order for PC Meter Connect to run properly, your PC must meet these minimum requirements:

 

  • Windows 7, Vista, XP or 2000 Operating System with latest service packs.
  • 1.2 GHz processor
  • 512 MB RAM
  • Administrative Rights
  • Internet Connection

 

If a phone line is connected to the meter, please disconnect this phone line.  Also, If you have virus checking/firewall software installed on your PC, such as Norton or McAfee, please check your settings to ensure that FTP downloads are allowed.

 

Next, connect the USB cable from the meter to your PC, making sure to use a Hi-Speed 2.0 USB port.  Now, launch PC meter connect and confirm your PC detects the Meter.  The Icon in your system tray should display “Meter Detected.” 

 

If you are unable to connect, launch PC Meter Connect, click on File and select Internet Settings.  Try alternating between Chunked and Non-Chunked, and HTTP Mode, FTP Active and FTP Passive.  After making a change, click OK, and try to connect.

 

If you are still unable to connect, you can go back into File > Internet Settings, and put a bullet in the circle next to Use Internet Explorer proxy settings and click OK.  Now, try to connect.  If you are still unable to connect, let’s go back into the PC Meter Connect Internet Settings.  Now, put a bullet next to the option Manual proxy settings, and use your own network’s Proxy Address and Authentication Settings (if used).  Click OK once these are set and try to connect.

 

If you are still unable to connect, you will want to make sure that you have ports 21 and 80 open.

 

Also, you can add these IP address as exceptions:

 

Pb.com                              199.231.44.12 (port 80)

 

Distservp1.pb.com         199.231.44.31 (port 80)

                                            152.144.128.244 (port 80)

 

Cometservp1.pb.com     199.231.44.36 (port 80)

                                            152.144.128.236 (port 80)

 

Cometservm1.pb.com    199.231.44.215 (port 80)

                                            152.144.128.230 (port 80)

 

Pbdlsp1.pb.com              199.231.40.30 (port 80)

                                            152.144.128.226 (port 80)

 

Dlsdlp1a.pb.com             152.144.128.44 (port 21)

Dlsdlp1b.pb.com             199.231.44.28 (port 21)

 

 

Thank you,

Jeremy

__________________________________________________________

If you have any questions regarding the board please drop me a message. If a post has answered your query please mark it as Solved
Please Kudos any posts that you find useful even if it was not your original query.

Kudos! Thanks!